I’m A Freak

Nicole Magnusson
2 min read3 days ago

I need to confess that I’m a freak.

20% of the time I feel like an empowered goddess, the other 80% of the time I feel like gulumn skulking in the shadows.

I hide in my lair. I have intrusive thoughts. I eat like a squirrel hiding nuts for the winter.

And finally, I am ready to embrace that I’m a freak.

There’s something freeing about it. To finally give up on the perfect girl I used to be. She’s long gone. I’ve become something else… something off the beaten path, shameful, and regal.

But I don’t want to live in shame anymore.

I want to embrace all of my faults, all of my shame, and all of my missteps. I want to feel glorious in my humanity. I want to feel free.

Owning that I am a freak allows me to walk in public with my head held high and fully embrace this chapter I am in and this version of myself. It is not my ideal, buts it's my reality.

Owning my shadow side feels liberating, empowering, naughty, counter-culture, and reckless.

Owning that I am a freak is the first step to becoming everything that I came here to be.

Owning that I am a freak allows me to laugh at haters.

Owning that I am a freak allows me to laugh at my self-judgement.

--

--